



INTERNATIONAL UNION, UNITED AUTOMOBILE, AEROSPACE & AGRICULTURAL IMPLEMENT WORKERS OF AMERICA - UAW



Dean Charney,

We write on behalf of Sinai Postdoctoral Organizing Committee-UAW (SPOC-UAW), the union that an overwhelming majority of Postdoctoral Fellows have chosen to form. We are proud to work at Mount Sinai and play a critical role driving its mission for cutting-edge research. With collective bargaining, we aim to negotiate for improvements that not only enhance our living and working conditions as postdocs but also enhance our ability to deliver quality research at Mount Sinai.

More than 80% of all Postdoctoral Fellows at Sinai have now signed cards authorizing SPOC-UAW to represent us in collective bargaining, and we are excited to join a growing movement of academic workers forming unions and to become part of the UAW, which represents 100,000 academic workers across the US.

Based on this overwhelming mandate for collective bargaining, we are in the process of filing a petition with the National Labor Relations Board (NLRB) to initiate the process of establishing SPOC-UAW as our union. We sincerely hope this process can proceed constructively and without delays. We have all been closely following recent news coverage of companies like Amazon and Starbucks in their efforts to persuade workers not to unionize, and we expect that Mount Sinai will rise above such behavior. We strongly believe that a constructive relationship between Sinai and SPOC-UAW will benefit the overall quality and competitiveness of research at the institute.

To that end, we request that the Mount Sinai administration remains neutral and does not attempt to influence Postdocs against unionizing. We would like to meet as soon as possible to discuss and agree on how best to ensure a fair and efficient process to verify majority support for SPOC-UAW as our union.

Please let us know your availability. We can be reached at organizing@sinaipostdocunion.org.

Sincerely,

Nicole Ackermans, Neuroscience
Christos Adamopoulos, Oncological Sciences
Zainab Al-Taie, Population health science and
policy
Mario Amatruda, Neurology
Nanditha Anandakrishnan, Medicine Nephrology
Guillermo Arango Duque, Cardiovascular
Research Institute
Anissa, Bara, Psychiatry

Jamie Bennett, Genetics and Genomic Sciences Lukas Bethlehem, Genetics and Genomic Sciences Bhavya Bharathan, Medicine - Endocrinology, Diabetes and Bone Disease Paola Bianchimano, Neurology Alba Boix, Genetics and Genomic Sciences Alice Buonfiglioli, Psychiatry Kaitlyn Cahuzac, Oncological Sciences Pablo Canales-Herrerias, Immunobiology Lei Cao, Genetics and Genomic Sciences

Monica Centa, Clinical immunology

Jordan Clark, Microbiology Oded danziger, Microbiology Romain Durand, Neuroscience Sohini Dutta, Neuroscience

Joanna Ellis, Environmental Medicine and

Public Health

Muhammad Elnaggar, Oncological Sciences

Tristan Fehr, Neuroscience

Ruben Fernandez-Rodriguez, Oncological

Sciences

Judit Garcia Gonzalez, Genetics and Genomic

Sciences

Pierre-Olivier Gaudreault, Psychiatry

Daniel Greene, Pediatrics

Elena Grossi, Oncological Sciences

Shalaila Haas, Psychiatry

Huajun Han, Personalized Medicine Institute Mike He, Environmental Medicine and Public

Health

Annika Hunziker, Microbiology Ruth Iban Arias, Neurology

Shakti Ingle, Pharmacological Sciences

Monika Jain, Neuroscience

Keira Johnston, Genetics and Genomic

Sciences

Sina Jostes, Oncological Sciences

Umut Karakus, Microbiology Esma Karlovich, Pathology

Kirtan Kaur, Environmental Medicine and

Public Health

kamaljit kaur, Medicine - Infectious Disease Jeromine Klingler, Medicine - Infectious

Disease

Pablo Knobel, Environmental Medicine and

Public Health

Alja Kozulic Pirher, Oncological Sciences

Greg Kronberg, Psychiatry

Piyush Kumar, Environmental Medicine and

Public Health

Emelie Lassen, Medicine - Nephrology

Linda Lee, Neuroscience

Rodolphe Leforestier, Radiology Meng Yen Li, Cell Development and

Regenerative Biology Rachel litke, Neuroscience

Dongjing Liu, Genetics and Genomic

Sciences

Stephanie, Luff, Cell Development and

Regenerative Biology

Douglas Mansell, Medicine - Pulmonary

Tiphaine Martin, Oncological Sciences

Mauro Martinez, Environmental Medicine and

Public Health

Vishal Midya, Environmental Medicine and

Public Health

Clare Miller, Neurology Janna Moen, Neuroscience

Hilary Monaco, Genetics and Genomic

Sciences

Prerna R. Nepali, Urology Philipp Neukam, Psychiatry Josep Oriol,, Neuroscience

Ana Orive-Ramos, Oncological Sciences

Balagopal Pai, Pathology

Anh Phan, Cardiovascular Research Institute

Sanjana Pillay, Cell Development and

Regenerative Biology

Gonzalo Pinero, Oncological Sciences Samir Rahman, Genetics and Genomic

Sciences

Vinodh Rajagopalan, Medicine -

Endocrinology, Diabetes and Bone Disease

Susana Isabel Ramos, Pathology

Nikhil Rasinghani, Cardiovascular Research

Institute

Elza Rechtman, Environmental Medicine and

Public Health

Mitzy Ríos de Anda, Psychiatry

Carmen Romero Molina, Genetics and

Genomic Sciences

Romel Rosales Ramirez, Microbiology Camila Rubio Patino, Oncological Sciences Tomoki Sakata, Cardiovascular Research

Institute

Irene Sanchez Martin, Microbiology

Lauriane Sedes, Pharmacological Sciences

Saren Seeley, Psychiatry Riaz Shaik, Psychiatry Fnu Sonia, Microbiology Agrima Srivastava, Psychiatry

Alan Stern, Nephrology

Raghava Sunkara, Cell Development and

Regenerative Biology

Bruna Taciane da Silva Bortoleti,

Immunobiology

Angélica Torres, Neuroscience Sindhu Vangeti, Neurology

Santiago Vidal Freire, Microbiology Pooja Viswanathan, Neuroscience Mariana Waldetario, Immunobiology

Bingyan Jessica Wang, Medicine - Cardiology

Soner Yildiz, Microbiology Yeging Zhu, Radiology